The Orion

Candidates fight for health care for all

California State Senate, 4th District: Phillip Kim (D), California State Assembly, 3rd District: Sonia Aery (D), California State Assembly, 3rd District: James Gallagher (R), moderator Mike Wiltermood California Congress: 1st District: Audrey Denney (D), California State Assembly, 1st District: Caleen Sisk (D) Photo credit: Dan Christian

Dan Christian

October 13, 2018

In anticipation of the upcoming General Election on Nov. 6, the Chico Guild Hall, formally the Chico Grange, was host to a candidate forum on health care held Wednesday by the Butte County Health Care Coalition. It was standing room only as concerned citizens gathered to hear what the candidates had to say ...

AS hopefuls discuss their agendas at candidate forum

AS hopefuls discuss their agendas at candidate forum

Josiah Nicholl

April 17, 2018

The candidates hoping to become elected AS officials for the next school year had the opportunity to speak briefly to students and answer questions at a candidate forum at the BMU Monday night. Each candidate was given 30 seconds to introduce themselves, followed by two questions from the moderator a...

Chico State student participates in conference call with Hillary Clinton

Photo credit: Marc Nozell

April 22, 2016

A Chico State student participated in a conference call with Hillary Clinton on April 21. Sophomore journalism major Elizabeth Helmer is an intern for the Hillary Clinton support network and writer for The Orion. Being an avid supporter and donor, Helmer was part of a conference call along with t...

No one enjoys political debate

Photo credit: David Molina

Sean Daly

March 19, 2016

Everyone has experienced the sudden, uncomfortable hostility that results when a friend mentions a political belief of theirs, which is then met with another friend's opposing belief. Friendly settings turn cutthroat as everyone in the room begins to angrily spurt out unorganized political jargon wi...

Chico State's independent student newspaper
election 2018