The Orion

White privilege is real. Stop acting like it’s not

Staff+Illustrator+Melissa+Joseph
Back to Article
Back to Article

White privilege is real. Stop acting like it’s not

Staff Illustrator Melissa Joseph

Staff Illustrator Melissa Joseph

Staff Illustrator Melissa Joseph

Staff Illustrator Melissa Joseph

Rachael Bayuk

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






I am white. This is a fact that can’t be changed or hidden. But, I have grown up in a world where this identity is never societally judged or questioned. White privilege is not myth. Stop saying it is.

Stop bringing up how hard you had it as a kid. Stop saying you were poor. Stop naming every bad thing that has ever happened to you in defense of yourself. White privilege is pervasive. The next step is to dismantle it. If you really believe it doesn’t exist, you shouldn’t have any problems when it goes away.

While we are working on rooting out the racist structures that hold this society up, we damn well better let people who’s voices have been drowned out speak. This means we stop inserting ourselves into conversations we shouldn’t be apart of. We have no say about what is and is not offensive to a minority group.

If you want to say something like: “The Redskins’ name isn’t even offensive! Get over it,” stop and think about how ignorant you’ll sound. We oppressed an entire population, slaughtered them, broke treaties and defiled their lands. Who the f*ck are we to tell them what isn’t offensive?

Racism is so deeply ingrained in our society that people feel they can disregard the opinions of the only group who should have a say in an argument.

Let’s keep going.

If you want to say something like: “I don’t know why I can’t have those hair braids, I like them,” stop. Think about how privileged this sounds. Why should you get to wear a style and be complimented on it, while a black woman who does it can be labeled as “ghetto” or see her job prospects damaged just from wearing the braids that are part of her culture?

We don’t get to pick and choose what’s okay and what isn’t. That’s what colonialism has been doing for centuries-picking and choosing all the parts white, dominant culture likes and discarding the rest. Well, we should stick to box tea and lederhosen and stop injecting ourselves into places we don’t belong.

Our society has adopted celebrations from Mexican culture only to gentrify them. We mash them up beyond recognition until all they become are excuses to drink and wear “funny” (racist) costumes. There is not a single thing funny about racism. The systematic oppression and crude depictions of people of color is unacceptable.

We can’t allow it anymore. If you’re staying quiet, you’re compliant in this system. If you just “don’t care for politics,” you are part of the problem. People’s livelihoods are based around political decisions. Stop and think about how privileged you are to be able to turn off the TV and forget about the communities plagued by systematic violence.

Think about how when you get pulled over, the only thing on your mind is how much of an inconvenience a ticket would be. Think about how you are called quirky for dressing in cultural fashion, but the people who the culture belongs to are called derogatory slurs. Think about how they are told to forget their ancestors and become a member of a society who treats them like they don’t matter.

Allies have to step up against this injustice. We have to be real. Being an ally to POC isn’t just about being friends and having a good time. Being an ally is being willing to fight along side them for the fair treatment they have not been afforded. Being an ally is being willing to be shot with pepper balls at rallies. Being an ally is using this privilege to make a change and not demanding recognition for it.

Let’s stop saying things aren’t fair, or they are racist when we aren’t invited to something. Our voices have rung through these mountains for far too long. It’s time we hold the megaphone up for the people who need to be heard.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
50 Comments

50 Responses to “White privilege is real. Stop acting like it’s not”

  1. Gee Willickers on February 20th, 2019 4:28 pm

    You drank the Kool-Aid. Never drink the Kool-Aid. Seek cult deprogramming help. I wish you luck finding reality again.

  2. The Onion Editorial Staff on February 20th, 2019 9:02 pm

    I noticed that your website is one letter away from ours and has very similar content to ours. Is this intentional trademark infringement?

  3. Josh Cozine on February 21st, 2019 4:30 pm

    I do hope this is a sarcastic joke, as is in line with your platform, but the answer is no. We are not infringing on your copyright. In fact, The Orion student newspaper of Chico State was founded in 1975, before the Onion was founded, and our content is our own.

  4. ShaftLivesMatter on February 20th, 2019 10:21 pm

    How is this racist allowed to have a platform on a forum, at a university, that prides itself on virtues like “inclusion”, ‘diversity’, or even a shred of respect for the individual?
    Why does it have to be continuously pointed out that this type of ignorant rhetoric would never be tolerated, or end up with expulsions and public shaming, if leveled at members of any other race?
    Do Asians have “yellow privilege” in their nations? Are Latinos guilty of “Brown privilege” in Latin America?
    Disgusting, shameful, and utter hypocrisy. Racism comes from the worst part of us. Stereotyping, marginalizing and demonizing humans based on skin tone is reprehensible.
    Why do you allow this? Where is you Code of Conduct?

  5. John Alexander on February 21st, 2019 3:23 am

    Go to Hell.
    You don’t get to tell me when and how to talk. Or do anything else, for that matter.
    I’m a successful, older, white man that enjoys his ‘White Privilege’ and I apologize to no one for that.
    I never owned any slaves and you never picked any cotton. I’m damn tired of being blamed for the problems of special minorities and hanging my head because I’m white.. I was born that way just as you were born who you are. It’s not my fault some people were born black. Get over yourself.

  6. melissa on February 21st, 2019 5:13 am

    As a counterpoint, instead of wallowing in identify politics, I consider people as individuals.

    I think it’s fair to say the Obama girls had a very privileged upbringing. Are they worse off than an orphaned white girl who now works for minimum wage at Burger King? She never flew to Hawaii on Airforce One. She’ll never go to Harvard.

    Please compare and contrast their relative privilege. Tell me how that white girl has is so easy because of her skin color.

  7. Bill Braskey on February 21st, 2019 6:49 am

    Another brainwashed 20 something neomarxist halfwit know it all telling the rest of us what to think…………yawn……….

  8. Maximus300 on February 21st, 2019 8:09 am

    No one really cares what you think. You can do what you want with your own life. I will not let you or anyone like you define who I am. I will not let you or anyone like you tell me what I can or cannot say, think or do. Try again after you have spent some time in the real world earning a living, paying bills and maybe raising a family. Interact with real people who are dealing with real life who do not have the time or energy to waste on worrying about who has “privilege” or who is “appropriating” whose culture. Stop trying to assuage your own perceived guilt by projecting it onto groups you believe are responsible with no basis in fact. I call your essay bigotry and it is disgusting.

  9. Miguel on February 21st, 2019 9:20 am

    Oh go away

  10. gary fouse on February 21st, 2019 9:54 am

    You are white. You are also an idiot. Being 73 (and white) I remember whenb tjhis was aracist copuntry-especially in the South where discrimnination had the weight of state and local laws. I lived throught he Civil Rights era and saw how over a few generations, this country has changed like no other society could. Yes, we still have a few fringe white nationalsits running around, but they don’t represent white Americans and they cannot keep any minority person from becoming all they want to be. With all our warts and dark chapters, we are still the freest country in the world.

    But now we are going backward, thanks to people like Bayuk. Instead of white racism, the key phrase is now “white privilege”.If you are a young minority, I say to you: Contrary to what Ms Bayuk would have you believe, we are not your enemy. And who is privileged in America? We all are-beacuse we had the good fortuyne to be born Americans.

  11. Killer Marmot on February 21st, 2019 10:50 am

    Bayuk has gone full woke.

  12. Man with the Axe on February 21st, 2019 12:56 pm

    Why should you be able to wear a hairstyle? Because this is a free country. If blacks get to “own” their hairstyles it makes sense that whites should own theirs. And yet I see most black women these days with long straight hair, mimicking white women.

    As for the “Redskins” name: It is your right to find it offensive. But it is my right to not care about what you find offensive. Don’t like the name? Don’t watch the games. Or buy the team and change the name. Just because you are offended doesn’t mean you get to rule the world.

  13. heythere on February 21st, 2019 2:57 pm

    Black people didn’t invent hair braids.

  14. Andrew Jackson on February 21st, 2019 3:13 pm

    You are not a revolutionary civil rights activist. You are nothing more than a follower regurgitating Marxist ideology. in the hopes of somehow gaining recognition among your fellow sheep. Your content is unoriginal and ridiculous. Why don’t you get to the point and state your solution as if there actually was one?

  15. Dan on February 21st, 2019 3:23 pm

    That would mean black women are not allowed to wear clothes. Think about it people.

  16. Patrick on February 21st, 2019 3:37 pm

    Hey Rachael,

    Interesting article and I think a fresh take. I have a question if you wouldn’t expanding on the topic.

    The white privilege that you describe in your op-ed, does this only apply for America or globally?

    Thanks appreciate the time,
    Pat

  17. Mitch on February 21st, 2019 3:48 pm

    As I read this op ed I wonder , do you have any idea how far this State has come in protecting minorities, women and illegal aliens?

    MAGA 2020 Snowflake

  18. Jessie on February 21st, 2019 4:45 pm

    “a black woman who does it [wear braids] can be labeled as “ghetto”.

    Are you for real? Only a racist would conflate braids on a black woman as being ghetto. I have never ever heard such a bizarre culmination of mental gymnastics before in my life.

    Black women don’t need a white woman to speak for them. They’ve got powerful voices all their own.

    America is the most accepting country of foreigners and legal immigrants in the world. Blacks have risen to the most prominent positions in American society. Only in America does a minority have the opportunity to achieve such greatness and NOWHERE ELSE!

    God Bless America!

  19. Da truth on February 21st, 2019 4:48 pm

    The author of this trash piece does seem to have a few screws loose. It is people like you that promote hate and disunity. Look in the mirror lady and see the reflection of hate. If you hate yourself, please do not try to project your hateful unhappiness upon the rest of us. In simply language “You’re a nutjob.” and part of the problem, a big part.

  20. Norm on February 21st, 2019 5:16 pm

    “[Whites] don’t get to pick and choose what’s okay and what isn’t.”

    But you and your (now massive) cohort do, and claim the right to, do exactly that: “pick and choose what’s okay and what isn’t.” It’s all over your article. So you are (presenting as, anyway) clueless about why that behavior is messing us up, no matter what supposedly inviolable evidentiary claims are included. Of course, so many other groups — including, say, white racists, as you assert — are guilty of the same kind of contemptible pretension.

    (1) Do you understand why free speech is a thing? It’s because nothing is, nor ever can be, definitively settled by ANY (manifestly imperfect) human mind(s).

    (2) Do you understand why democracy is a thing? See point (1).

  21. Timeforfreedom on February 21st, 2019 5:16 pm

    “White Privilege” is just an anti-White conspiracy theory trying to justify White Genocide.

  22. Norm2 on February 21st, 2019 5:19 pm

    “[Whites] don’t get to pick and choose what’s okay and what isn’t.”

    But you and your (now massive) cohort do, and claim the right to do, exactly that: “pick and choose what’s okay and what isn’t.” It’s all over your article. So you are (presenting as, anyway) clueless about why that behavior is messing us up, no matter what supposedly inviolable evidentiary claims are included. Of course, so many other groups — including, say, white racists, as you assert — are guilty of the same kind of contemptible pretension.

    (1) Do you understand why free speech is a thing? It’s because nothing is, nor ever can be, definitively settled by ANY (manifestly imperfect) human mind(s).

    (2) Do you understand why democracy is a thing? See point (1).

  23. Non-NPC on February 21st, 2019 5:19 pm

    The crazy part is people actually believe in this stuff….

  24. Ken on February 21st, 2019 5:28 pm

    So by this logic then white people must wear lederhosen, and eat sausages.
    Jews must wear suits and eat only bagels.
    Italians must eat pizza and work in landscaping?
    Greeks have to have big fat weddings.
    Australians must only eat shrimp on the bar-b.
    Japanese have the wear kimonos and eat sushi rolls?
    I’m from a very cold climate. I love Mexico, Mexican food, I wear a hat there so I don’t get a burn. Is that racist? I love a Corona.
    You’re applying your very limited world view to every situation.
    FYI – my 23andme dna says I’m from 19 different places so I’m covered.
    Very narrow thesis here.
    Take a few second year classes and write a new piece.

  25. harnonger65 on February 21st, 2019 5:47 pm

    “White privilege” is nothing more than another arrow in the quiver of the mewling SJW….if that doesn’t shut the conversation down, then use any number of other pejoratives. Bad news you you…they’ve been used so much that only fellow cultmarx travelers are offended by the term. We just don’t care anymore, and no we will continue to voice our opinions as we see fit and as allowed by the 1st Amendment. Don’t like it? IDGAF.

  26. stuvian on February 21st, 2019 6:25 pm

    Please explain white poverty and don’t dare tell me it doesn’t exist

  27. Critical Mach on February 21st, 2019 7:24 pm

    Funny how she doesn’t excoriate the forty years of minority priviledge called Affirmative Action.

  28. Mary Squier on February 21st, 2019 7:34 pm

    Looks like enthno-masochism is the new black.
    Is their a particular piercing than goes with that?

    I’ll believe in “white privilege”, as depicted here, when a private business actually hires Rachael Bayuk after graduation.

  29. Ben Bernanke on February 21st, 2019 7:36 pm

    Chico State isn’t even a real school.

  30. daryl martis on February 21st, 2019 8:20 pm

    you ought to spend less time on social media or cnn, and more time in the library

  31. Tom on February 21st, 2019 9:00 pm

    Wow! I heard this same stuff from one of the professors in a Masters class that I was taking at Penn State., except it dealt specifically with pay disparity. When I said that in the 20 plus years that I had been a manager in charge of several men and women at tech companies, and that from my personal experience, I had not seen disparity in what women or non-white people receive in pay, I was told that I didn’t know what I was talking about. I realized that this was not something that I would be able to convince the instructor that she might be misinformed about, and also realizing that she was in control of my grade, I let the arguement go. Any arguement that some conceived notion of White Privelege may not be quite on Target is met with shock and disbelief in college circles.

  32. Cag3db1rd on February 21st, 2019 9:05 pm

    I wilk wear my braids however I want because I am Irish. You need to look at how the Irish have been treated throughout history. Often, it was worse than POC. Irish slaves cost a tenth of what an African slave cost during the days before the War of Northern Aggression. Don’t forget they weren’t freed by the Emancipation Proclamation like the African slaves were. Do your research.

    Oh, and cultural appropriation? You better not go out and drink on March 17 if you aren’t Irish. It’s racist if you do. Ya know, because everyone knows that Irish are just lazy, drunken ne’er-do-wells.

    So don’t you dare try to talk to me about racism. EVER!

  33. Connie on February 21st, 2019 9:37 pm

    It is good to hear that women have not entirely lost their mothering and protective instinct despite the efforts made for decades by feminists to eradicate them. I sincerely hope you will apply those instincts to unborn children. They need your protection far more than black and brown people do in America. The problem with most white kids is they have never lived in foreign countries that are governed by non-whites. You should do so. Pick one and go for a few years. Tell me then how bad black and brown people have it here. Tell me then how terrible it is that non-white cultures insist as much as we do, much more so, on preserving their culture. BTW, American culture, as much as we still have to grow, is worth preserving. It is the reason, since it’s inception, that people from all races and cultures have wanted to come here. I know. I have lived in other countries and traveled the world. People from everywhere want to leave their country of origin to be a part of what white, Christian European men have created. Yes, there are problems to solve. So, roll up your sleeves and help solve them, instead of participating in the destruction of the dreams of every immigrant who has ever come here, like my parents, and taught their children to love and feel gratitude for giving them a life they could never had anywhere else. God bless you and God bless America.

  34. Normal Person on February 21st, 2019 10:13 pm

    I am from Italy, my wife from Mexico. Both came legally and now citizens for 30 years. When we met and got married this little girl was not even born, we have kids that are probably about her age, and we are proud to have raised them to think properly, my wife especially wanted them to live well compared to how she was brought up. I know Rachael wants to believe she is standing up for the downtrodden, but this sounds more like self hate, and is embarrassing, something is wrong. No one with a straight mind talks like this. No one with wisdom thinks like this. I asked my wife to check this out and she read a few sentences and called it stupid and walked away and asked my why I waste my time.

  35. Kurt on February 22nd, 2019 12:26 am

    As a white man I demand you shut your white mouth. If there is any such thing as “white male” privilege you’ll do just that.

  36. Daniel on February 22nd, 2019 4:11 am

    It was never privilege, it was earned through teaching, parenthood, family values, intelligence, blood, sweat and tears, etc.

    Thanks for the laughable nonsense, your stupidity was quite amusing. Really the mind of a child. It’s why you don’t realize you’re regurgitating someone elses words. You only have reflected opinions. Stick to stuff like that last, perverted filth you wrote. Or better yet, stop wasting your time and parents money at what is clearly, a mental institution.

  37. Dave on February 22nd, 2019 7:22 am

    I grew up in what was more or less a border town, a major hub on the cartel trade routes at a time when there was next to no industry in that town and the unregistered immigrants had a percentage that were on par with the official citizens.

    I got the opposite of white privileged growing up. In fact I was very openly discriminated against in school by both my peers and much of the school administration, by some of the businesses in town, I even learned by observation the local DMV had different standards for different people when it came to renewing licenses.

    I have to admit, leaving that town did distance me from the problem, but what I have observed, with the exception of little pockets here and there – that don’t just flow one way – racism in the modern U.S. is disappearing overall. Sure, there’s real incidents, when it’s a white guy being racist it’s all over the news, when it’s someone else it’s covered up.

    I would say recent well covered news out of Chicago proves the demand for racism has outgrown the supply.

  38. Just American on February 22nd, 2019 7:56 am

    I hate how articles like this act like white culture is a monolithic thing. It’s not, especially here in America. Our ancestors come from around the globe and have ‘mixed and matched” for centuries. First generation immigrants are the only ones who are actually “pure-bred” anything, but each generation after that tends to assimilates more and mixes into the larger culture. It’s not weird for white people to have mixed ancestry and to not consider themselves anything other than American.

    America was literally built on taking things from different cultures and making them into something new/different (and better than what they had at home!) It’s not about separating things out and saying “well, you can’t do this, that or the other” because you aren’t a specific ethnicity. It’s one thing to be sensitive towards other cultures, but it’s not okay to say that people literally can’t take something that they like from another culture and use it to improve their lives.

    Western culture doesn’t have all the answers, but we aren’t supposed to be afraid of taking things that work in other cultures and using them either. I’d argue that’s blatantly Anti-American! We’ve made a country out of assimilating ideas and other things from many cultures to make an unique American culture!

    Also, people really need to stop acting like “white” is something to be disparaged at every turn. Every culture has parts of their history that they should be rightfully be ashamed of, but that doesn’t mean people haven’t learned from their history either. You don’t have to buy into “white privilege” to realize that some of our ancestors really did get things wrong sometimes. However, a lot of us have learned the lessons and are looking forward, not backwards.

    I doubt that after we’ve been dead for a couple of centuries that our progeny will think we are super enlightened people. It’s really just dumb to judge what people did in the past by modern standards and expecting that dead people will some how be able to change and live up to standards they literally didn’t have.

  39. Matteo on February 22nd, 2019 8:13 am

    The rights we are afforded through the Constitution and Bill of Rights are REAL privileges; inventions created out of Judeo Christian thought. Those rights are the most important inventions of man and should be guarded with the understanding that their erosion or loss would be grave. Our security and comfort rests on the belief and preservation in those fundamental ideas.

  40. House of Squirrel on February 24th, 2019 11:29 am

    I am sort of disappointed that you are focusing on white privilege, which is pretty passe’ at this point.

    Let’s talk about temporal privilege, the idea that those living right now have it better than earlier populations. To take one example, people living in the Middle Ages did not even have smart phones.

    They had super clunky flip phones, which is, like, so primitive that I can’t even. The only good news is that half of them died of the plague, and at that point they wouldn’t really care.

  41. Patricia Wang on February 25th, 2019 7:18 am

    Okay, despite you’re not knowing the difference between, “apart” and, ” a part”, let’s talk about this statement: “We don’t get to pick and choose what’s okay and what isn’t.”

    Your diatribe should end here. You don’t get to tell me what is okay, and what isn’t. However, you ramble on, so I will share a few thoughts. You say:

    “There is not a single thing funny about racism.”

    And yet, I laughed at your column. So, call me politically incorrect. But your column was quite, well, racist. And historically ill-informed.

    First, why can’t I say I was poor? Because you say so? I wasn’t poor, in the sense that I had food on the table, but compared to most people in America, I grew up poor. I grew up sharing a 6’X7″ bedroom in a single wide mobile home with my sister. Yeah. 6′ X 7′. But, since I am white, I can’t say that?

    So, hair braids. Do you realize that Bo Derek made them popular before your mommy and daddy conceived you? And that quite a number of folks make their living braiding the hair of moderately wealthy cruise ship passengers, most of whom are white, none of which have asked themselves why they can’t wear braided hair? So, are you suggesting that all those overweight, overwhite women who get their hair braided on the beaches of Mexico NOT parade about the boats with braided hair, NOT support those folks who learned a skill that feeds their families? What is racist about hair braids? Besides your perception of them?

    Okay, so let’s take a look at a couple of your gross racial slurs. “Well, we should stick to box tea and lederhosen and stop injecting ourselves into places we don’t belong.”

    First, my heritage is English and Hungarian. My husband’s is Chinese. I am not sure what you mean by “box tea”, but, perhaps, it covers, say, one third of my family’s heritage. There is no lederhosen in my heritage, nor do I interject myself into places I don’t belong. However, your diatribe is doing a fine job of it. You complain about racism by being racist. Great.

    The very term, “white privilege” is racist. Some whites have been privileged. Some blacks have grown up with great privilege, as have some people from all races. Some of us have not. Some of us have scraped and clawed our way to where we are, oft times watching others get many privileges we are denied, because of our background.

    So this is me telling you to stop. Stop being such a racist. Stop assuming, because of my color, that I have been privileged, and that what I have didn’t come through my own hard work. And, please, learn to write. Your grammar and syntax is that of a high school sophomore.

  42. Tatiana Covington on February 25th, 2019 1:27 pm

    Thank God I’m White!

  43. Jambes Marks on February 25th, 2019 1:36 pm

    Rachel, seek help. I know a place that’s hiring forklift drivers. I bet you could get hired there, because no way will any professional employer hire someone as clueless as you. Have a nice day!

  44. Thanks on February 26th, 2019 5:30 pm

    What people don’t understand is there are many privileges. Able body privilege, class privilege, male privilege, etc. white privilege is a prominent one. It’s disgusting to see the comments section in disarray. It’s shameful to act like you don’t have these privileges, it’s better to understand that you do so you can accomadate for those who don’t.

  45. Rob on February 27th, 2019 10:46 pm

    If white people can’t wear gross dreadlocks, then black people have to give up their hair straighteners, weave-extensions, and skin-lightening products.

    And then after that, we can move on to the alphabet and wheels.

  46. GorgoR on March 1st, 2019 5:10 am

    We cannot change who we are and where we come from…most of us, “White People” are from different countries in Europe and Central Asia. When I came to America from Europe at age 5, I didn’t speak English, people, other White people held that against me and my family. I remember the first encounter of welcome from the neighborhood children involved the throwing of rocks. Wow. Right? What a welcome? That was our White Privilege introduction to the United States of America.

    So, if Ms. Rachael Bayuk, which does not really sound like a White name? Should go to Venezuela, the Socialist Paradise, were they practice the philosophy of Equality for All, all equally poor and starving.

  47. Morgana on March 1st, 2019 8:14 am

    Umh, I’m still stuck at the braids thing . No white woman should wear braids because it’s an African thing. Sooo no European white woman ever has as a part of her culture, beauty regime has ever braided her hair? At any time in any way? And you are supposed to educate us? History and culture are such wonderful subjects, you should study it sometime. Of course most of it is centered around the middle East, Africa and southern Europe because everyone is taught that’s the center of all there is. And nothing but savages and barbarians roamed farther north until southern civilization could reach and subdue them. Well that history and culture is very interesting, the so-called savages and barbarians of the north called Native Europeans today. Or simply white, but I don’t like that term because it allows anyone who has it to pretend to be something they are not to cause discord , steal from real Europeans control them and take over the world. Which is why they worked so hard to become ‘white’ and reduced a people to a color. But I digress. When people start remembering who they are, then they can change the way things are. If you can keep people ignorant you can keep them silent. Once they gain knowledge they will rise and speak. Lies can only cover or distract you from the truth but it can’t destroy it. Ok done now.

  48. Michael on March 6th, 2019 9:16 pm

    “We don’t get to pick and choose what’s okay and what isn’t.”

    Now excuse me while I write an entire opinion piece telling (white)people what’s okay and what isn’t.

    “Being an ally is using this privilege to make a change and not demanding recognition for it.”

    Except when I write (yet)another tired rehash of SJW disinformation, tortured reasoning and self-righteous bull**** for the sole purpose of drawing attention to myself.

    Everybody understands your concerns and wishes you well. We just don’t agree with you. Get over it.

  49. Sarah on March 10th, 2019 4:28 pm

    I do not understand why you think all or most white people got it made, And using the history (things in the past that are done and over with-you cannot change what happened) of other races and how they were treated by white people: is old news. It is amazing, also, to take something as minute as the name of a football team as an insult to the American Indian when the truth of the matter is that you are drawing attention to a stupid name while most American Indians are either poor or discriminated against and need help. You are using things that don’t deserve any merit. You are also causing division…not unity. It is easy for anyone to speak out against social injustice or racial injustice. Then? Are you going to give of yourself monetarily to organizations that support these people? What do you really want lady? I have been an activist before and though I may have made a small impact; I knew that it was not enough to just express my viewpoint. You want to be a leader of those who are hurting and are not that well informed. If you want to be a leader and also published for your contributions towards mankind; then you should serve others. Really get involved and witness for yourself the need of sooo many! What did you plan on accomplishing with your reterick? Are you going to save and rescue the people of this country? How? Ya know…I get a lot of mail from various organizations and though I give to a few here and there; I realize that it takes more than one person to make a difference. That I cannot make a vast improvement or save the world just by giving my measly money alone. That others need to contriibute their money and time too.I Cannot afford it. You do not need to be in charge in order to make a difference. The Lord is coming soon; and he will settle all matters pertaining to the human race.

  50. Go Away on March 13th, 2019 9:17 pm

    So many racists in the comments section. I’m so ashamed to go to school with you disgusting bigots. You should all be outed and shamed like the racist white trash that you are.

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.




Navigate Left
  • White privilege is real. Stop acting like it’s not

    Editorials

    Trump isn’t the worst dog from the White House

  • White privilege is real. Stop acting like it’s not

    Columns

    Reporting on the stories of dreamers with respect

  • White privilege is real. Stop acting like it’s not

    Editorials

    Breaking Latina stereotypes

  • White privilege is real. Stop acting like it’s not

    Editorials

    Women in white win the night at State of the Union

  • White privilege is real. Stop acting like it’s not

    Columns

    Politics may be messy cesspools but they can’t be ignored

  • White privilege is real. Stop acting like it’s not

    Columns

    Shave yourself the hassle

  • White privilege is real. Stop acting like it’s not

    Editorials

    Students need time for finals, rather than assignments

  • White privilege is real. Stop acting like it’s not

    Editorials

    We took our vacation, now it’s time to honor the Camp Fire victims

  • White privilege is real. Stop acting like it’s not

    Camp Fire

    Camp Fire flames finally settle, yet the housing crisis rages on

  • White privilege is real. Stop acting like it’s not

    Editorials

    Ethnic backgrounds are not a joke

Navigate Right
X
The student news site of California State University, Chico
White privilege is real. Stop acting like it’s not