Chico State's independent student newspaper

The Orion

Chico State's independent student newspaper

The Orion

Chico State's independent student newspaper

The Orion

Faculty, alumni join city’s green committee

Chico State faculty and alumni were among those up for consideration as the City Council selected seven committee members for the newly reconstituted Sustainability Task Force on Tuesday night.

Fourteen applicants were reviewed for the seven-member committee. After a ballot in which each of the seven council members selected their top three candidates, exactly seven people were remaining. The City Council approved all of them unanimously.

The seven committee members are:

Cheri Chastain – sustainability manager for Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. and Chico State alumna.

Dave Donnan – realtor and CEO of Dam Bag, Inc.

Ryne Johnson – management consultant for RLJ Solutions, LLC.

Bill Loker – dean of undergraduate education at Chico State.

Lucas RossMerz – program manager for Sacramento River Preservation Trust.

Mike Rubio – engineering manager for FAFCO, Inc., and Chico State alumnus.

Mark Stemen – professor in the department of geography and planning at Chico State.

Stemen explained what he views as the main priority of the task force.

“I think it’s really going to be communicating with everyone on exactly the work that needs to be done,” Stemen said. “We’ve basically got to get people to drive 25 percent less and use 25 percent less electricity.

“So it really … is the conversations that we’ll have about the issues that are the most important part.”


Bill Hall can be reached at [email protected] or @thebillhall on Twitter.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All The Orion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *