Navigate Left
  • Photo of the crosswalk where the student was hit by a car. Photo taken Sept, 27 by Molly Myers.


    Chico State student hit by car in front of campus

  • Roselle Bar and Lounge: A fresh take on the bar scene in Chico

    Arts & Entertainment

    Roselle Bar and Lounge: A fresh take on the bar scene in Chico

  • Chico State student gives treat to dog. Taken by Natalia Cortez-Pagan on Sept.13

    Arts & Entertainment

    Need some time to ‘Take A Paws?’

  •  The cast of “Dr. Faustus” takes a triumphant bow after their first performance.

    Arts & Entertainment

    Theatre Arts Club pulls off one day play

  • The volleyball team huddles up to strategize about the game. Photo credit: Mary Vogel


    Chico State Volleyball displays resilience in weekend split

Navigate Right
Chico State's independent student newspaper

The Orion

Chico State's independent student newspaper

The Orion

Chico State's independent student newspaper

The Orion

Fourteen students awarded scholarship

Natalie Holmberg-Douglas, a animal science and biochemistry double major, is one of the Rawlins Merit Award winners. Photo courtesy of Jason Halley.

Chico State student scholars are being honored with the prestigious Merton Rawlins Merit Award for achievements in the classroom and community.

The award is in memory Lt. Robert Merton Rawlins, a B-29 fighter pilot who was killed in World War II. His widow, Fern Rawlins, established the scholarship as part of the Lt. Robert Merton Rawlins Merit Award endowment in 1981.

The program is one of Chico State’s most generous scholarships, which awards $3,000 to each winner.

Angela Trethewey, dean of the college of education and communication and a 1988 Rawlins Merit award recipient, said the winners are some of the best students at Chico State.

“I know the students who have been selected feel embraced by our university community,” she said. “In receiving this award, they know that they represent the best of what Chico State has to offer our communities, namely smart, talented, other-oriented, civically engaged future leaders.”

The 2014-15 Rawlins award recipients are:

  • Angela Breining, Political Science/Latin American Studies
  • Joanna Bundros, graduate student in Nutritional Science
  • Natalie Holmberg-Douglas, Animal Science/Biochemistry
  • Aleksander Irvin, Journalism
  • Darion Johnston, Communication Studies/Political Science
  • Shelby Martin, Applied Computer Graphics (Computer Science, Japanese, and Video Game Design minors)
  • Nicole McAllister, Multicultural and Gender Studies/Political Science/Special Major in Sociology
  • Lily Mirsepassi, French/Business Administration (International Relations minor)
  • Natalie Oelsner, Agriculture
  • Lindsay Olds, Liberal Studies
  • Lindsey Runge, Psychology
  • Benjamin Sampson, Business Administration
  • Steven Sanchez, Business Administration (Ethics, Justice, and Policy minors)
  • Quinn Western, Journalism (Criminal Justice minor)

Recipients will be honored at the Oct. 14 reception in Colusa Hall.

David McVicker can be reached at [email protected] or @DavidPMcVicker on Twitter.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All The Orion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *