Breaking News
Chico State's independent student newspaper

The Orion

Chico State's independent student newspaper

The Orion

Chico State's independent student newspaper

The Orion

MLB 2017 awards recap

This year in baseball was an exciting one. We saw the record set for most home runs hit by the league, beating the record set in 2000. We saw the city of Houston get its first World Series ever just months after getting hit by a tragic hurricane. Now lets take a look into who-won-what in terms of some of the awards.


AL: Jose Altuve ran away with the award. League leading .346 average, 23 home runs to go along with 32 stolen bases, Altuve was unstoppable.

NL: Giancarlo Stanton came out on top, with Joey Votto finishing in a close second. While the flashy Stanton seemed to be everyones favorite with his league-leading 59 home-runs, Votto went under the radar and came within one vote of beating Stanton. Votto hit 36 homeruns of his own and rocked a .320 average to go along with it.

Cy Young Award

AL: Corey Kluber received his second Cy Young award. Chris Sale finished in second place once again, after finishing with 17 wins and a 2.90 ERA.

NL: Max Scherzer beat out Clayton Kershaw and teammate Stephen Strasburg. Despite Kershaw and his playoff heroics, Scherzer edged him out for his third time winning the award.

Rookie of the Year

AL: Neither rookie of the year was much a surprise this year. Aaron Judge finished with 52 home runs and was the backbone for the Yankees’ offense and that was enough for him to take home this year’s award.

NL: Cody Bellinger and his bat exploded in the second half of the year and took the Dodgers to the World Series. With this, he took home the NL Rookie of the Year.

Manager of the Year

AL: Hall of fame third baseman and manager of the Twins Paul Molitor took the win on this one beating out Indians manager Terry Francona and World Series Champion Astros manager AJ Hinch. He turned a 2016 Twins team that lost 106 games to a very respectful 85-77 record good enough for 2nd place in the AL Central.

NL: First year manager for the Diamondbacks Torey Lovullo won the award for the NL with second place going to Dodgers manager Dave Roberts. He too led his team to an exact turn around, turning a Diamondbacks team that finished 69-93 in 2016 to a 93-69 finish and taking the top Wild card spot.

Gold Glove Awards



For a full view of all MLB awards given, visit

Justin Couchot can be reached at [email protected] or @JCouchot_Sports on Twitter.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All The Orion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *