Travel Ban applied to Chico State employees

The State of California creates new law. Photo credit: Sean Martens

The State of California creates new law. Photo credit: Sean Martens

Natalie Hanson

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Four states were added to the list of states banned for travel under California state law.

Due to a prohibition in California’s Assembly Bill 1887, a list of states exists which bans travel, for employees of the state. Four new states have been added.

The current list includes: Alabama, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, and Texas.

CA AB 1887 Sec 11139.8 prohibits discrimination of any kind, and states, “California must take action to avoid supporting or financing discrimination against lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people.”

State law now prohibits agencies from funding travel for employees to states that have enacted discriminatory laws against people, for their sexual orientation or gender identification.

This law applies to Chico State and all employees.

“We have no control over it at this level – it’s state mandated”, said Melissa Taylor, from Accounts Payable, when asked about the new law.

Further information can be found in the State of California Department of Justice.

Natalie Hanson can be reached at [email protected] or @NatalieH_Orion on Twitter.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email